RSS

What’s Funny?

25 Feb

I love to laugh.  I had an incident earlier this week that made me think twice before I share a laugh with someone.  Now…I need to ask what it is exactly that they think is funny before I just start laughing…

So…I can be an uptight person.  But I can be a very funny person also.  I have my balance.  There is a time and a place for these things.  Plus…I don’t tend to think that everything is funny, but I usually am able to find humor in almost everything.

There is this thing now…just about everything…especially if it’s ignorant…is available on YouTube.

My coworker has been saying this phrase…”Ain’t nobody got time for that” occasionally   When he says it, it is funny as hell!  I laugh very hard.  No lie.  He told me that he got it from this video on YouTube.  I thought I saw this video and knew what he was referencing.  I didn’t think twice about it.  It was funny when he said.

He has a southern drawl and very mono-tone voice.  So just about everything he says to me is funny.

Friday I decide that I need to look at this video so I can see what the hell is so funny.  I look it up…and it’s not that funny.  He looked it up at the same time I did and was cracking up.  I just didn’t get it.  Here’s the video.

You know what…I’m not going to do that…you can find it on your own.

Here’s the thing…the video wasn’t that funny. Why?  Maybe because I’m Black.  The Lady in the video…the way she talks is the way my people talk.  Maybe I’m used to it, so I couldn’t find the humor in that.

I also know that the news media seemingly look for the most “news-worthy” candidates that they can find.  It’s absolutely amazing.  So…Sweet Brown…I like your charisma!  But they are laughN at you Baby.  But at least I saw that you had a little chuckle too!

I’m sensitive when non-Black people laugh at my people when they are stereotypically represented.  I can’t stand it.  But then again…as it is said…it is what it is.  I try to be open about it.  But there is a difference at laughing because something to truly funny compared to laughing at someone in a demeaning way.

I don’t know.  I’m sensitive.  I guess it could have been worse.  But she was tripN…a little bit :)  Plus, I don’t think it is cool to take shots at people in certain situations.

You know what…Chris Rock, succka!

Peace.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2013 in Entertainment, Humor, People, Perspective

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “What’s Funny?

Thoughts Anyone??? Leave A Comment...

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

